Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

68 vette brake light problems

Old 11-12-2018, 07:54 PM
gbonsal
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 68 vette brake light problems

I hope i can finally solve this issue. I have gone through 4 brake switches only to realize that is not the source of the problem. Here is what is happening:
I installed the latest new brake switch and the brake lights worked for awhile. Then they stopped working. For the hell of it I plug the old switch and low and behold the brake lights work - only for a couple of days and then they're off. Go back to the new switch and it works' for a day , 2 or 3, then off again. This now has been going on for 2 years and I am at my wits end as to where to look for the problem. I am not a mechanic and there is no one where I live to really help me out - at least not ripping my off by charging me for an exorbitant amount of time to locate the problem. Is there a suggestion where i should start looking at? Have you ever heard of such a thing? Sure hope you can help. Thanks.
Old 12-04-2018, 08:34 PM
2019GSTX
Lurker

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 568 Likes on 356 Posts
St. Jude Donor '19-'20

I’ve not had any luck with new replacement brake lights switches on my 68.....gave up, built a bracket and mounted a 5 buck 1969 switch instead.
Old 12-04-2018, 09:36 PM
gbonsal
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Thanks for the rely. I had heard of other owners of 68s doing the same.Would you have a picture or diagram of the bracket you built? Given the fact that when I switch the switches around and they manage to work for a day or 2, you think the problem may lay in the switch itself?
Old 12-04-2018, 10:13 PM
2019GSTX
Lurker

Support Corvetteforum!

St. Jude Donor '19-'20