C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Brake master cylinder bench bleeding question

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2001, 01:01 AM
rhoeven
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Brake master cylinder bench bleeding question

I ordered new calipers and a master cylinder for my '81 Vette and read in other threads that the master cylinder requires bench bleeding.

Since this is my first time that I install the master cylinder, can somebody describe what is involved, how to do it and if I need additional tools such as vacuum pump etc....

My parts will hopefully arrive tomorrow (Thursday) and everything must be ready by Saturday evening since I have to leave on a 4 week business trip on Sunday morning.

Thanks in advance

Roger
Old 08-09-2001, 03:41 AM
Chris O'
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Brake master cylinder bench bleeding question (rhoeven)

I just did mine a couple of weeks ago. I stuck it in a vise with a rag around it, 1/4 filled it with fluid and pushed the rod in with a screwdriver (blunt). I pushed with one hand and blocked the outlets with my fingers on the return stroke. It will take a few primes and only travel about 40mm.

When the fluid comes out it really comes out! So use the rag, and leave enough fluid in there so it doesn't suck air.

This may not be the "correct" way, but it worked for me.
Old 08-09-2001, 09:28 AM
1LE
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

When you get your master cylinder, it should come with a couple of small tubes and fittings .