C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Getting my '79 L-82 up and running...

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2001, 12:45 AM
theanswriz42
Team Owner

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Cruise-In 8 & 10 Veteran
St. Jude Donor '08, '15

Default Getting my '79 L-82 up and running...

In the southwest forum i made a post at this link: http://forums.corvetteforum.com/zerothread?id=162697 and I was wondering if anyone over here could help

Hey, I'm pretty new to Texas and I have a 1979 L82 that's been neglected for quite a few years. I am planning to try to get it running and eventually fully restore it back to near show room condition. Since I'm 17 years old and about ready to get to college money is pretty tight so I'm wondering how much it would cost for some basic things. I need a new windshield, the transmission slips, I think the break lines might need to be re-done (or maybe it'll work to just bleed the break lines, i havn't tried yet), I'll probably want to get the engine checked for compression etc., and there is some rust. I'd greatly appreciate your help.

Thanks
Old 10-08-2001, 03:06 AM
78Vette-SA
Le Mans Master

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Re: Getting my '79 L-82 up and running... (theanswriz42)

Greetings,

Of course you'll get some help here. My usual suggestion in this case - (you will find that everyone has suggestions, comments and opinions. I think its alsways good to take what you can from them and then figure out what works best for you) - is to make a list of everything you think the car needs to get it where you would like it. Also, it would be helpful to know if you want to build a show car, weekend warrior or daily driver.