C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C3 Oil Consumption?

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2007, 02:49 PM
mrowpolitron
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C3 Oil Consumption?

My C3 has 49,000, supposedly, miles on it. The car runs and drives great, no smoke and yet I seem to go through a fair amount of oil. I am not a mechanic so I'm not sure if that's normal or not. I would say I am using a quart every 1,000 to 1,500 miles. Any comments?
Old 03-15-2007, 02:56 PM
GrandSportC3
Team Owner

Received 83 Likes on 58 Posts
Cruise-In IV-V-VI-VII-VIII Veteran
St. Jude Donor '03, '06, '17

Originally Posted by mrowpolitron
My C3 has 49,000, supposedly, miles on it. The car runs and drives great, no smoke and yet I seem to go through a fair amount of oil. I am not a mechanic so I'm not sure if that's normal or not. I would say I am using a quart every 1,000 to 1,500 miles. Any comments?
Doesn't strike me as unusual.. I've owned 7 C3's and the lowest oil consumption that I've ever had was with my yellow '68 for the first 5000 miles.. Didn't use any oil.. However, after changing to synthetic oil, the oil consumption went to about 1 qt for 500 miles.. Changed back to regular oil and I'm still using 1 qt/500 miles... No smoke here either.. Oil consumption of my other C3's ranged from 1 qt/100 miles to 1 qt/500 miles
Old 03-15-2007, 03:07 PM
bobs77vet
Race Director

Location: Arlington Va Current ride 04 vert, previous vettes: 69 vert, 77 resto mod
Received 255 Likes on 225 Posts

take a moment to fill out your profile...it will help with the answers.....so where are you located and what grade oil do you use.....
Old 03-15-2007, 03:14 PM
mrowpolitron
Advanced

I was using synthetic but I was told to switch to a 10w30. I did and no change. Mark.
Old 03-15-2007, 03:41 PM
bobs77vet
Race Director