C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A/C Repair

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2012, 11:06 PM
myko
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Default A/C Repair

It has been over 95 degrees or more every day with no end to the heat wave in sight! I have an '80 with factory A/C that hasn't worked since I got the car. I don't know what components might be missing and have no clue where to start. Searches haven't provided a full A/C system evaluation sequence and there isn't a repair shop in town that works on the old R-12 A/C systems.

Does anybody have a good paper or link to diagnose and fix A/C systems from start to finish? I am a novice and don't have equipment but am willing to do just about anything (including a full upgrade to R-134) to get a cool draft in the cockpit.

Thanks,
Mike
Old 07-16-2012, 11:55 PM
Jud Chapin
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 417 Likes on 288 Posts
St. Jude Donor '11-'12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17-‘18-'19-'20-'21-'22-'23-'24

Any auto a/c shop should be able to tell you what your a/c system needs to get it properly repaired and convert it to 134a if that is what you want. As for doing it yourself with no training, that is a tall order. While a/c is not complicated, there is much to learn for a novice. Some high schools offer courses involving various trades including a/c so you might check this out in your area.
Old 07-17-2012, 05:53 AM
myko
Racer

Originally Posted by Jud Chapin
Any auto a/c shop should be able to tell you what your a/c system needs to get it properly repaired and convert it to 134a if that is what you want.
That conversation went:
"What year is it?"
"That probably has the old style A/C"
Yep, can I get it looked at?
"Yes, but it might be expensive"
That's OK, can you look at it?
"Oh... no, we don't do those"
Hmmm. Can I convert it to 134a?
"Sure, that is a possibility"
Can you get it in to convert it soon?