C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help with selecting dash and kickpanel speakers

Old 03-12-2016, 04:44 PM
Maymyvetteliveforevr
Safety Car

Received 44 Likes on 33 Posts

Default Help with selecting dash and kickpanel speakers

I’m not very tech savvy when it comes to auto audio so I would appreciate advice on selecting speakers for both the dash pad, (I assume they’re 4”x6”) and the kick panel (I assume they’re also 4”x6”) speakers. At this point I’m not adding a subwoofer. When it comes time for a subwoofer I’ll most likely add another amp dedicated for it.
The head unit and amp was given to me by my son and the speakers I already purchased.

What I have already.

Head unit - Alpine CDA-9886 http://www.manualslib.com/manual/249...?page=3#manual

Amplifier - JVC KS-AX7300 http://www.manualslib.com/manual/814...00.html#manual

Speakers - Alpine SPR-69 2-Way 6" x 9" http://www.alpine-usa.com/product/view/spr-69/

Car - 75 Coupe.

Budget - $150 per each set (total $300.00)

I would appreciate some suggestions on the dash pad (hidden/undermount with no grill) and kick panel speakers (hidden/recess with no grill) and I don’t want to cut into the door panels. I would mount them flush under the dash and kick panels.

Thank you.
Old 03-12-2016, 05:14 PM
resdoggie
Had a 1976 L-82, 4-sp

Support Corvetteforum!

Location: Some days your the dog and some days your the hydrant.
Received 1,199 Likes on 925 Posts
Royal Canadian Navy

I would only use the dash speaker area for a tweeter as part of a component speaker setup with the matching shallow 6-1/2" or 5-1/4 round in the kick panels. I wouldn't use 6x9 in the rear but install a sub instead.
The following 2 users liked this post by resdoggie:
7t2vette (03-13-2016), Maymyvetteliveforevr (03-13-2016)
Old 03-13-2016, 10:56 AM
Maymyvetteliveforevr
Safety Car

Thanks for the reply redoggie.