C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Free 5.3L LS

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2017, 05:31 PM
shaun8484
Racer
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 21 Likes on 21 Posts
Default Free 5.3L LS

Ok, so first things first, a buddy of mine is giving me a free 5.3L LS out of a 2001ish truck. Apparently it was a good running motor just high mileage (about 150k) and came out of the truck due to a motor swap. Since it is new to me, I plan to do a rebuild anyway and my first question is, is it easier to buy a top end kit and be done with it or try to buy piece by piece? I am a beginner with motor builds but have been doing alot of research. I have scowered the threads on here and LS1tech, I have got a lot of good information from both. Secondly, is it easier to switch the car over for FI or build the 5.3 as a carb motor? I am sure I will have many many more questions as this goes forward but this seems to be a good start for now. My 81 runs good now and there's nothing pushing me to put this new motor in anytime soon, so I want to take my time, do it right and make it nice. Thanks for any advice you guys are able to provide. The car is not a DD, it is only driven a few times a monthin the summertime and I am only looking for maybe 350-400hp at the wheels and has a TH350 trans for now, looking for a 5 or 6 soeed or 200r4, but that's a long ways off.
Old 09-17-2017, 09:19 PM
TimAT
Le Mans Master

Received 424 Likes on 385 Posts
C3 of Year Finalist (appearance mods) 2019

Any engine build is better served with a game plan. Buying parts a little at a time will work, but you need to have an end game plan. Buying an intake, then finding out that the heads you have could be better with a different intake, I think you see my point.