C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil Pump Prime Question

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2017, 09:50 AM
74VetteAZ
Instructor

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Oil Pump Prime Question

Hey Guys -

Almost done with the oil pan removal and rear seal on the 74 BB. It has taken me several months to find the time to finish plus I'm still learning this stuff so I'm much slower than you guys. Since it has been several months since the oil pan was removed and now I'm ready to put it all back together including a new oil pump. My service manual doesn't say anything about priming the oil pump but from what I've read lots of folks say you should. I have one of those priming tools (Summit Chevy BB specified) that goes onto a drill and into the top of the distributor. Couple questions - which way do I turn it - and do I do it with the ignition on until the gauge reads pressure? Also, anything else I should be aware of when working with the distributor since this is a first for me?

Thanks very much!
Old 10-27-2017, 10:18 AM
71VetteLover
Pro

Received 71 Likes on 71 Posts

Originally Posted by 74VetteAZ
Hey Guys -