C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Posi-Traction Clutch Life?

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2002, 03:24 PM
downtownj
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Posi-Traction Clutch Life?

How long do the clutches generally last on a 74 Vette?

I've never worked on a Diff before.
Where do I start? Can I buy just the clutches or a rebuild kit.
I've got 3.55's so I am happy with them.
Old 03-02-2002, 03:52 PM
Larry B.
Le Mans Master

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: Posi-Traction Clutch Life? (downtownj)

What is the problem? Why are you wanting to replace the clutches? You can buy posi kits. I think GM still sells them. If you are experiencing chatter then all you need is new oil and most import the GM posi-traction additive. If you are fixing another problem like side yokes, don't mess with the clutches. :nonod:
Old 03-03-2002, 10:08 AM
mrvette
Team Owner

Received 223 Likes on 204 Posts

Default Re: Posi-Traction Clutch Life? (silvervetteman)

Silver, I somewhat disagree with you on your statement the way it reads....

I think if yoke wear is excessive, that metal particles went somewhere, and caused premature wear, in the one's I've seen anyway...and so one of the primary wear points is the posi clutches, if the tips of the steel are worn smooth enough it will cause excessive end play, as it in the thickness of the clutch pack that limits the outward end play of the yokes...there are shims or extra clutch discs that can be inserted into the pack to make that end play nearly zero....

if the yokes are shot .....I have found the small pinion bearing and the carrier side bearings to be worn/distressed....most often....now why the large pinion bearing pressed on next to the pinion head survives sometimes, is a question I can't answer....