C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Electronic ignition

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2018, 09:34 AM
derekderek
Race Director

Received 3,388 Likes on 2,633 Posts

In the old days I would hear people cracking their engine for 10-15 seconds before it caught. I waved them to stop. Open their Hood pop the cap opened up the points Gap close the lid and the engine started in three cranks. Free tune-up.
Old 02-24-2018, 10:10 AM
Jeff_Keryk
Drifting

Received 37 Likes on 35 Posts

I like Pertronix, nice and simple. MSD is good. I ripped all that stuff out and went back to stock. I love my points.
Old 02-24-2018, 10:40 AM
Tech Contributor

Location: I tend to be leery of any guy who doesn't own a chainsaw or a handgun.
Received 771 Likes on 553 Posts

Originally Posted by 7T1vette
As a professional Reliability Engineer, I would have to disagree with the idea that an electronic ignition is more "reliable". As a professional ignition module/ECM/PCM design engineer, I would have to say, it depends. If you buy some cheap shitty designed Chinese stuff you're just rolling the dice. If you buy something designed by guys who know WTF they're doing, these things are incredibly reliable. If you put an electronic ignition on a test bench, you can run up a huge number of cycles with no problem. But that's not how it will be used on the vehicle.

It will sit idle most of the time. When in use it will experience temperature swings from ambient to about 300*F (engine heat AND exhaust heat) during each "use" cycle, plus damp conditions, etc. And it will have to repeat this "process" for years. A properly designed module is built to withstand the conditions, with internal circuitry that is certified by the parts manufacturer to work reliably at those temperatures. Aftermarket parts, who knows. Toss your dice again.