C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Opinions on engine rebuild componenets

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2018, 07:09 AM
andyanth
Instructor

Received 10 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Opinions on engine rebuild componenets

I bought a 1979 l48 a couple of weeks ago and I'll be starting an engine rebuild in a few weeks.
I'm very new to this and it's been my dream to work with a qualified mechanic to rebuild my engine. I want to do as much of the work as possible myself, with the proper guidance. I was very fortunate to find someone willing and enthused to work with me.
I've ordered a couple of "Chevy SB Rebuild" manuals (as recommended on this forum) and plan to read them cover to cover before starting.
I worked with Dougs Speed Shop in Binghamton NY to select components. I'm looking for somewhere between 350 - 400 hp and ft lbs.

The components we're thinking of are as follows:
Dart 180 heads
Comp Cams 268 hydraulic cam
650 - 700 CFM double pumper carb
Flat top pistons
Dual Plan intake manifold.

I'm also going to swap the automatic for a Tremec six speed from American Powertrain.

I've learned a lot from this forum so far and would appreciate opinions on the above set up, and maybe some things to be aware of with this job.

Thanks in advance for your input.
Old 03-09-2018, 08:59 AM
stingr69
Le Mans Master

Received 1,039 Likes on 805 Posts

Stop right now and go spend that money at Madame Oars. You will have much more fun and no bruised knuckles. You are welcome!
Old 03-09-2018, 09:15 AM
andyanth
Instructor

Originally Posted by stingr69
Stop right now and go spend that money at Madame Oars. You will have much more fun and no bruised knuckles. You are welcome!
Thats really funny. I dont live in Binghamton, but my son goes to school there. I'm going to ask if hes been to M Oars.