C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Whats best way to find battery drain cause?

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2018, 01:03 PM
Surfer69
Drifting

Received 19 Likes on 12 Posts

Default Whats best way to find battery drain cause?

Something is killing my battery in only two days when sitting. I'm not good with electrical things.

I've looked everywhere but see nothing shorting. How do you use the fuse box to try and find it with meter?

Or if diode in alternator or something is shorting out how could I tell?

Thx
Old 03-26-2018, 01:18 PM
Jebbysan
Dr. Detroit
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 3,892 Likes on 2,564 Posts

Remove the negative bat cable and run a test light in series. One end on the cable and one end on the post itself. If there is a draw.....the light will come on.
From there....start pulling fuses in the fuse box until the light goes out. This will narrow down the circuit. From there you will have to find the culprit by poking around that circuit.....seeing if anything is out of place or looks bad.

Jebby
The following 2 users liked this post by Jebbysan:
rickimvette (09-06-2018), Surfer69 (03-27-2018)
Old 03-26-2018, 01:24 PM
C6_Racer_X
Safety Car

Received 416 Likes on 321 Posts

I use a digital multimeter. Mine will measure up to 10A on a special input point for 10A. I plug the red aligator clip probe into the 10A port on the meter, and I have a special black wire that I use. It has a 7.5A fuse in an inline fuse holder, and it ends in a big clip like the ones on battery chargers.

I disconnect the negative battery cable. I clip the fused black wire to the negative battery terminal on the battery, and the red aligator clip wire to the negative cable leading to the car. If it doesn't pop the fuse (I hope), I check the current reading. Anything under 100mA isn't horrible. Under 20mA is good.