C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Intake Manifold Swap - Looking for Input

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2018, 04:41 PM
tjmaniez
Instructor

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Intake Manifold Swap - Looking for Input

Full disclosure, complete newbie when it comes to working on cars...I have been tinkering with my 76 L48 for the last few years (using this site as my bible). This winter I decided to dig a little deeper swap the stock cast iron intake with a Edelbrock 2101. I got the carb removed and am considering having it rebuilt while it is off (Lars still around?). I am at the point of removing the distributor but I think I have done enough research to ensure I have the rotor marked for reinstall. I am changing out the intake and carb gasket as well as buying a new thermostat housing. Anyone have any advice for other things I should consider replacing or looking at while the intake is off?

Lastly, probably a dumb question but what is the fitting the blue arrow below is pointing to on the intake? The hose is completely melted to it so I want to buy a new one. Just need to know the part number.

The following users liked this post:
TinCanSailor (12-15-2018)
Old 12-05-2018, 04:47 PM
jim2527
Race Director

Received 633 Likes on 426 Posts

1. Blue thing is old heater hose. Use a pipe plug on new intake.

2. Do not use thee supplied intake end gaskets. Use some type of sealant.

3. Block of heat passages that go through heads. Some gaskets have built in blocks

4. Mark distributor body in relation to firewall and rotor in relation to dizzy

others will have more advice.
TinCanSailor (12-15-2018)
Old 12-05-2018, 04:56 PM
tjmaniez
Instructor

Originally Posted by jim2527
1. Blue thing is old heater hose. Use a pipe plug on new intake.

2. Do not use thee supplied intake end gaskets. Use some type of sealant.