Go Back  CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion > C3 Corvettes, 1968 - 1982 > C3 Tech/Performance
Reload this Page >

QA1 coilover SU-1478 vs Sharkbite coilover SU-1302

Notices
C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette

QA1 coilover SU-1478 vs Sharkbite coilover SU-1302

Old 03-14-2019, 09:32 AM
76_vette_girl
CF Member

Default QA1 coilover SU-1478 vs Sharkbite coilover SU-1302

I'm on the fence about which one would be better for my application. Originally I was looking at Sharkbite (love the name) but then saw the QA1 stuff. The $ difference is 100$ between the two kits. I have researched forums but I'm a suspension novice. Yes I know they aren't true coilovers..

Basically I have a mostly stock C3 '76 with sagging stock front suspension. I would like max adjust-ability for ride quality, height, and looking at a medium spring. She is basically a daily driver but
occasionally I like some spirited driving (not a track day car). I would like at some point to upgrade the back suspension which was previously done with a fiberglass spring and was looking at Sharkbite
for the rear at some point in far off future. I would like a more modern flexible ride without major $$$ (ridetech, chassis mods, etc). I sent an email to a tech at Zip Corvette suggested to me during a support chat but have yet to receive a response.

Thank you
Old 03-14-2019, 10:01 AM
gkull
CF Senior Member

I went for adjustability with QA1s dual adjustment front semi and rear dual adjustment and mono spring. My long term goal is a rear coil over
Old 03-14-2019, 10:10 AM
Richard454
CF Senior Member

Have you looked at the Vansteel stuff?

Same price range- they are a suspension company- not a reseller. Plus they are great to deal with and offer a Corvette Forum discount-

https://www.vansteel.com/index.cfm?f...&subgroup=3029

Last edited by Richard454; 03-14-2019 at 10:11 AM.
Old 03-14-2019, 10:24 AM
76_vette_girl