C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fiberglass floor repair question

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2004, 09:06 PM
69ttop502
Le Mans Master

Received 859 Likes on 630 Posts

Default Fiberglass floor repair question

OK, while getting ready to put my interior back together I decided to replace my front carpet. When I pulled it out I found a long but not severe crack in the drivers side floor near the clutch. I have never done any fiberglass work before. Should I do this repair in the interior or underneath the car or both. I did a search and only came up with severe cases of this. Mine really isn't bad as I pushed hard on the area and it still felt solid but I would be dumb not to fix it now. Please tell me how you experts would repair this. Thanks for the help.

Bill
Old 09-20-2004, 09:29 PM
65LS6C4
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Bill,

You need to make the repair on both sides. Just feather the ends around the crack making a wide valley with the crack at the low point of the valley. Try to make the valley about 3 inches wide to add enough stability to the repair. Make certain that you do not have any paint left in the area that you intend to place fiberglass. Fill the valley starting with progressively wider strips of glass soaked in resin (example 1", 2" 3"). Lay the most narrow stip first, then lay the next wider strip.. and so on until you fill the valley. Allow the repair to cure, then sand smooth. Make the same repair on the other side. There should be some fiberglass tutorial examples online. This type of repair is not difficult to make. If you are in a rush you can lay one wide sheet of glass on one of the repair sides (without feathering, wait for it to dry and then just feather the other side very well to make a more integral repair on that side. good luck
Old 09-20-2004, 09:37 PM
Summerfun
Race Director

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts