C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Suspension: When to rebuild?

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2004, 03:55 PM
Caphie
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suspension: When to rebuild?

I'm new to Corvettes. I'm new to mechanics outside of "normal" maintenance items. As winter is fast approaching I'm thinking more and more about prioritizing all of the projects I expect to do to my '79.

Since I'm new to the "sport" I am not entirely sure if I'm supposed to feel every bump in the road or if my car is due for some suspension work. I'm looking for feedback on how you decide when it's time to rebuild the suspension and/or replace shocks.

As far as I can tell my 64,000 mile car is on its original suspension components and shocks. I hear a lot of creaking/squeaking from the rear end at low speeds (pulling into the driveway, for instance). The steering feels loose. I don't expect it to be as tight as a modern car, but overall I think the car should just feel "tighter."

I am considering placing an order with VanSteel for a complete suspension rebuild (rubber bushings) and a set of Bilstein shocks. However, I'll be pretty disappointed if after installing all of this stuff the car still feels the same.

TIA
Old 09-24-2004, 05:01 PM
CA-Legal-Vette
Race Director

Received 322 Likes on 273 Posts

My guess is that you would see an improvement one way or another. The original rubber bushings deteriorate over time regardless of mileage on the car. At ver least it would reduce or eliminate some of the squeeks and groans. Steering "tightness" is almost more a matter of opinion. I expect my ride to be extremely tight and will change rods and ends to make this happen but that's me. Many don't mind a little slack.

Incidentally, if you want a professional opinion, simply call VanSteel up. They're good folks.
Old 09-24-2004, 05:13 PM
GTR1999
Tech Contributor