C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

1991 headlights

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2006, 12:11 AM
rmderenzo
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1991 headlights

My right headlight will not open and when it does, it doesnt stay open.

What are the first steps to diagnose the problem? I havent seen anything posted on headlight motors or tips.

Please advise. I'm a rookie with a wrench....
Old 01-09-2006, 09:10 AM
geogolf
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default headlight

if a 91 is the same as a 90, sounds like you need the 3 bushings that hold headlight up, when it is open go to search and type in headlight repair and it should show posts of how to do repair. you will need to get a headlight repair kit from mid america or ecklers not a easy job but if you take your time prob. 2/3 hrs. ps some guys say you can find bushings at lowes or home dep.

Last edited by geogolf; 01-09-2006 at 09:14 AM.
Old 01-09-2006, 09:32 AM
khindmon
Pro

Default Owns A 1991

Originally Posted by geogolf
if a 91 is the same as a 90, sounds like you need the 3 bushings that hold headlight up, when it is open go to search and type in headlight repair and it should show posts of how to do repair. you will need to get a headlight repair kit from mid america or ecklers not a easy job but if you take your time prob. 2/3 hrs. ps some guys say you can find bushings at lowes or home dep.
Old 01-09-2006, 09:54 AM
Ibuyvettes
Melting Slicks

If the motor still spins then the problem is the bushings. You'll need more than a wrench.
Old 01-09-2006, 10:22 AM
kopbet89c4
Safety Car