C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

96 targa top questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2017, 08:58 PM
car addict
Burning Brakes

Received 225 Likes on 177 Posts
Default 96 targa top questions

Okay, I'm a nOOb. So if I sound ignorant,....

Bought my first Corvette last fall. 96 LT4 coupe, Polo II, 78k mi when I bought it.

Right now I'm obsessed with the targa top and largely hating it. Like sitting under a magnifying lens on a 90+ degrees sunny day. Seems like a stupid idea.

The top I have I assume to be glass. You can see through it from inside. Were fiberglass panels available for 1996? Did glass top ever have any kind of liner? All I ever see for sale are blue or copper glass tops. Mine looks black to me.

What have others of you done to try to mitigate solar heat gain in the cockpit? I tried the "static cling" liner, but I am apparently the only one who can't make one stay in place unless I glue it.

I am seriously considering painting the inside of my top.

Any information will be sincerely appreciated.
Old 06-21-2017, 09:08 PM
Kens94
Instructor

Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts

Originally Posted by car addict

Bought my first Corvette last fall. 96 LT4 coupe, Polo II, 78k mi when I bought it.

Right now I'm obsessed with the targa top and largely hating it. Like sitting under a magnifying lens on a 90+ degrees sunny day. Seems like a stupid idea.

The top I have I assume to be glass. You can see through it from inside. Were fiberglass panels available for 1996? Did glass top ever have any kind of liner? All I ever see for sale are blue or copper glass tops. Mine looks black to me.

What have others of you done to try to mitigate solar heat gain in the cockpit? I tried the "static cling" liner, but I am apparently the only one who can't make one stay in place unless I glue it.