C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Sticky steering wheel problem solved

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2017, 09:44 AM
~ Anno Domini
Pro

Received 51 Likes on 37 Posts

Default Sticky steering wheel problem solved

I had a gummy, sticky steering wheel in my 89 vette and it got worse in the summer time. Here's what I did to solve the problem. I cleaned the steering wheel with soap and water, let it completely dry, and then applied KIWI liquid shoe polish. I used KIWI Honor Guard Instant Spit Shine and when that ran out I bought some KIWI Color Shine and it basically worked the same. I applied it to the wheel liberally and then took a cloth and lightly buffed it to get rid of any excess. It colors the wheel black, lasts long, doesn't rub off on your hands, and I have been applying it periodically for several years. Problem solved. No tacky, sticky steering wheel. Hopes this helps.

Last edited by ~ Anno Domini; 09-04-2017 at 06:58 PM.
Old 09-04-2017, 09:17 PM
ghoastrider1
Le Mans Master

Received 265 Likes on 240 Posts

The reason the wheel gets sticky is oil from your hands. Dust settles on the oil, then builds up. Also if you work on it, one might grab the wheel with less than clean hands.. that stuff sticks to the oil lefty behind on your hand. Clean the wheel once in a while and it will prevent this from happening
Old 09-04-2017, 09:25 PM
FOURSPEEDVETTE
Safety Car

Received 224 Likes on 156 Posts

Originally Posted by ~ Daniel