C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Rod Inside Steering Column

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2019, 07:48 PM
Black_C4
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rod Inside Steering Column

Hello yall from Charleston SC! I have a 91 Coupe with the automatic.

Im venturing well outside of my comfort zone with this project, I dont mind challenging myself. I am a professional motorcycle mechanic. And used to build Honda race cars (yeah, yeah).

I am working on a few issues in the steering column, floppy turn signal stalk, replacing the ignition lock, and removed the cluster to send out for repair.

I can tell someone who didnt know what they where doing was in there before. And I am questioning whether this rod (circled in attach pic) is not where it is supposed to be. Im looking for some insight and/or where I can find some pics or good info on the steering column internals. I will be downloading a service manual tonight as well.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Last edited by Black_C4; 03-02-2019 at 08:09 PM.
Old 03-02-2019, 08:12 PM
belairbrian
Melting Slicks

Received 358 Likes on 290 Posts

it's the high beam low beam dimmer rod

The following 2 users liked this post by belairbrian:
Black_C4 (03-02-2019), slipup (03-03-2019)
Old 03-02-2019, 08:17 PM
belairbrian
Melting Slicks

here's a link to the Illustrated Parts Breakdown
91 Steering Column IPB
The following users liked this post:
Black_C4 (03-02-2019)
Old 03-03-2019, 04:24 PM
csthews
Burning Brakes

Received 24 Likes on 24 Posts

There is a plastic switch rod actuator that goes between the rod and the multi-function switch. If it is missing, that answers why your stalk is loose.
The following users liked this post:
Black_C4 (03-03-2019)
Old 03-03-2019, 04:37 PM
Black_C4
Heel & Toe

Its defiantly missing lol The rod was just chillin in there!

Thanks for the hint. Now I have to find one of those. Would it happen to be #21 or 22 in the above parts diagram?