Notices
C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

VikingTrad3rs ZR-1 Track Day HPDE Log with PICS!

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2022, 07:42 PM
VikingTrad3r
Oil Producer
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,270 Likes on 1,452 Posts

Default VikingTrad3rs ZR-1 Track Day HPDE Log with PICS!

Im super stoked to see all the track day threads starting up. Here is mine. Im new to it, started three years ago.

Based on one eyed ******* recommendation of the dynamic friction pads over the powerstop pads i thought id try them. Powerstop trackday pads work well but EAT ROTORS. 3 sets of front pads ate two front rotors. huge lips. ive kept thrm and will find a way to grind the outer ring lip off.

—- —-

so installing dynamic frictions for tomorrow:

first snag: i felt by the end of last season i was getting everything out of my j55’s....these are grandsport j55’s.

its the upper caliper piston seal

must have cooked them last season. drove a very dusty track first run of this year and i can see plenty of that dust in there.

will install the factory j55’s back on the car for tomorrow. picked up a spare set of steel lines i think ill swap them on and pull these gs calipers out for a rebuild!

I came close to *not* inspecting my brakes before tomorrows session. This is a good example of why you need to!!!!

——-

picked up a garmin catslyst and look forward to trying that out. will try my best to get video from the session so i can keep up with some of the other guys sharing video on here. 👍

—-.—-

on second thought i may scab a seal off an original j55 as i can see the gs j55 are infact quite a bit beefier than the j55. pics for your pleasure.

from this angle it’s mostly the rib thickness and ticker reinforcement on the top and bottom

from this angle its easier to see the added material on outboard side. the side that gets pressed into. i think this is the side that spreads under hard hard use.