C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Change from Dino Oil to Synthetic Oil?

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2005, 08:31 AM
thomastl
Burning Brakes

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Default Change from Dino Oil to Synthetic Oil?

First - I am a firm believer in Synthetic oil. Have used in my cars for years and love it. Saved an engine one time when the thermostat stopped up and ran extrememly hot. Oil was like new.

As most of you have figured out by now I am new to the Corvette world and have been asking some questions.

I just bought a 1988 Convertible w/ 150000 miles on it that has been running Dino Penzoil all its life (according to the owner I bought it from). After 2500 miles or so on the oil change it still looks like brand new oil.
I would still like to switch to Mobil 1 but have concerns about dislodge of any varnish and possibly stopping up a passage or something.

Have searched the web and not found much other than one posting about Amsoil and they say it does remove some deposits/varnish but the filter should capture.

Anyone have any real word experience w/ changing after high miles.
Old 08-19-2005, 08:45 AM
RWDsmoke
Burning Brakes

Received 228 Likes on 181 Posts

If it has had oil changes every 3000 miles the inside of the motor should still be clean. I've seen 150k mile motors using conventional oil that still looked like new inside. I would do it.
Old 08-19-2005, 09:19 AM
vader86
Team Owner

Received 1,404 Likes on 1,019 Posts
C7 of the Year - Unmodified Finalist 2021
C4 of Year Finalist (performance mods) 2019

Run a search HERE, you'll find plenty
Old 08-19-2005, 09:52 AM
Rick86
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by RWDsmoke
If it has had oil changes every 3000 miles the inside of the motor should still be clean. I've seen 150k mile motors using conventional oil that still looked like new inside. I would do it.