C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

1992 Corvette LT1 not starting and speedo/dash not displaying

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2010, 07:03 PM
McMillin
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1992 Corvette LT1 not starting and speedo/dash not displaying

Hello,
This is my first time posting in the Corvetteforum.com. I'm a recent first time owner of a Corvette. I have a 1992 Corvette LT1. I am a proud owner and happy with my car except for the recent issues that are plagueing it. The speedo/dash will not display, it is just orange from the backlighting. Also sometimes it wont start, it will just click once and not turn over. Is that a possible starter/selinoid issue? As for the speedo and other information is that a computer related problem? Before the display completely went out I noticed that if I hit a "nice-sized bump" that it would become all jumbled and unreadable then go back to normal. Now it wont display anything at all in the speedo area. Any help would be helpful!

Thank you,
Mike
Old 10-27-2010, 08:37 PM
jaa1992
Le Mans Master

Location: Life is just one big track event. Everything before and after is prep and warm-up and cool-down laps GA
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Cruise-In III Veteran
Cruise-In IV Veteran
St. Jude Donor '12

You need a factory service manual (FSM) to work on the car yourself.
Some of it is plain old small block chevy, but with wiring issues the FSM is the book to have.

Do a search here for "dash grounds" and similar words. there are a few folks that have had the problem over the years.

Also make sure your battery is fully charged and is holding a full charge. Lots of problems crop up when the battery is not fully charged.

Good Luck
Old 10-27-2010, 09:02 PM
C4happy
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Look at this for your speedo http://web.archive.org/web/200312071...=253&TopicID=2