C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

1989 C4 Courtesy Light Issue

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2017, 01:53 PM
GAWD
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1989 C4 Courtesy Light Issue

1989 C4
Courtesy light on passenger side door above armrest will not turn off. Doesn't matter if the car is on or off, doors open or closed the light will stay on and drain the battery as I found out. I've read through some "Issue/Tech posts" but being a novice I didn't really understand most of them. Is it a relay that would need to be changed? If so would someone be able to tell me the part number or a link to the part I need? I can have someone do the work for me that would not be an issue.
All other lights in the car will go off as usual but that one will ALWAYS stay on no matter what.
Any help would be greatly appreciated and thank you in advance.
Old 08-11-2017, 02:02 PM
cadwiz_01Z
Burning Brakes

Location: When Democracy becomes tyranny, the armed citizens will still get to vote!
Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts

Since all the other lights work as normal, I would think that it isn't a relay, delay timer, or fuse issue. My guess is that the switch inside the light to turn it on individually is not working correctly.
Old 08-11-2017, 02:04 PM
GAWD
5th Gear

Originally Posted by cadwiz_01Z
Since all the other lights work as normal, I would think that it isn't a relay, delay timer, or fuse issue. My guess is that the switch inside the light to turn it on individually is not working correctly.
Thank you, didn't know the light themselves had switches as well. I'll see if I can get to it easily and have a look.

If it were a relay, delay timer, or fuse issue would there be another set of lights that would stay on as well?
Old 08-11-2017, 02:10 PM
cadwiz_01Z
Burning Brakes

Location: When Democracy becomes tyranny, the armed citizens will still get to vote!

Originally Posted by GAWD