C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Poor Running 85. Limp Mode?

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2018, 04:58 PM
Skylerjm1209
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Poor Running 85. Limp Mode?

I'm new to corvettes. I picked up my 85 z51 about 2 months ago. The car sat for 15-20 years without moving. I cleaned the fuel tank replaced the fuel level sending unit and housing a well as the pump. After putting in a new battery the car starts and runs but it ran super rich and would not rev above 2.5k. I have done many different parts on many occasions and can't remember what I did on each occasion so I'll lump them into 1. The car has new injectors and fuel regulator and fuel filter. It has a new coolant temp sensor. A 9th injector delete. A smog pump delete. It also has new spark plugs wires and cap and rotor. The car idles but if I ease into the throttle I can get it up to about 2300 but if I go wide open it bogs and sits at 1.5k while doing this there is white smoke and a very strong rich smell. When I tried to pull codes I got a 34. I followed another procedure that said to disconnect the maf and battery for ten second reconnect the battery (leaving maf unplugged) run car at 2.3k for 1 minute (more like 2k for me) re-pull codes. I then get a code 33. Its an 85 so maf sensors run about $150-250. I want to be sure before I spend anymore money. Anyone have any ideas on what I should start with/check? The car only had 35k miles btw if it help narrow anything.

Last edited by Skylerjm1209; 09-22-2018 at 05:00 PM. Reason: Missed Some Info
Old 09-22-2018, 10:20 PM
Skylerjm1209
Cruising

Default Update

Replace MAF sensor. Still the same 2.5k rev limit with fumes and running rich
Old 09-23-2018, 12:13 AM
confab
Melting Slicks

Received 335 Likes on 295 Posts

Put a fuel pressure gauge on it? Codes?
Old 09-23-2018, 12:23 AM
Skylerjm1209
Cruising

Default Update