C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

1988 Corvette hard start hot

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2019, 01:45 PM
desertguyj
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 1988 Corvette hard start hot

Busts right off cold start every time. But hot re-start after sits an hour or so, it cranks a long time before starting, like 4 seconds. Either way, the cranking speed is normal.

Last edited by desertguyj; 02-28-2019 at 01:46 PM. Reason: typo
Old 03-11-2019, 12:40 AM
85 CRVET
Pro

Received 52 Likes on 34 Posts

Mine does almost the same thing as this. I’m no mechanic so I’m not sure but I’ve read about it a lot and I’m thinking that it’s the injectors that are leaking causing it to take time to start when the injectors leak when it sits there. When it’s cold I think it has evaporated and if I wait a couple days it starts as soon as I turn the key but when I go like to a store or something and shut it off then get back in to start it takes like 5 seconds sometimes to start but it cranks fast like it’s not the battery. If I wasn’t planning on an intake change next year I’d change the injectors now but I’ll just wait until I get to change intakes sometime and get new injectors then.
The following users liked this post:
desertguyj (03-11-2019)
Old 03-11-2019, 08:55 AM
Ray Quayle
- 1986 Original Owner -

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 113 Likes on 88 Posts
Cruise-In I Veteran
Cruise-In II Veteran
Cruise-In III Veteran
Cruise-In IV Veteran
Cruise-In VII Veteran

Originally Posted by 85 CRVET
I’m thinking that it’s the injectors that are leaking causing it to take time to start when the injectors leak when it sits there.
If you think this, next time you try a hot restart, press accelerator pedal to the floor before switch on. This puts the ECM in clear flood mode. If it starts faster this way, you are most likely right.
desertguyj (03-11-2019)
Old 03-11-2019, 11:27 AM
vader86
Team Owner