C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Check Engine Soon light coming on..

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2002, 08:26 PM
C4Me
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Check Engine Soon light coming on..

Ok. I'm a newbie to Corvette's and have only had mine for a few months but need some help. The "Check Engine Soon" light coming on after approx 30 minutes of highway driving. I did not noticed any change in performance. When I reached my destination, it took about 45 minutes, the light was still on. My wife went shopping (that time of the year) I returned about an hour later and started the vette and the light was out. On our trip home, 20 to 30 minutes into the drive, the light came on again.

How do I identify what is causing the check engine light to come on?

One other thing to add. Last week I replaced the the whole exhaust system when my pre-cats went out. I put in a Front Y-pipe that takes out the pre-cats that goes to just one cat. Then put in a rear Y pipe with crossover tube to Borla mufflers.

Thanks

Don
Old 12-14-2002, 08:52 PM
dlmeyers
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Re: Check Engine Soon light coming on.. (C4Me)

I'm willing to bet, (not much but suspect several would join me) should you pull your codes, it would be a 32.

Your EGR valve requires back pressure for normal operation. With a free flowing exhaust, the back pressure is no longer there providing the signal for proper EGR operation.

You can get a chip to solve this problem.

If you have a service manual, head for a code 32. The service manauls offer excellent schematics and trouble shooting diagrams.

Also, check the archives for "Code 32" or "EGR".

Several list members have web sites with trouble shooting tips. Should be found in some post for 32 or egr.

Just speculation.

dlmeyers 90 coupe zf6 3 speed shocks
Old 12-14-2002, 09:46 PM
ittlfly
Safety Car

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts