C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

ZZ4 and stock chip

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2001, 08:51 AM
1MoorTym
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

How many of you are using a ZZ4 with the stock chip? I've rebuild my 89L98 to ZZ4 specs (cam and valve train) and wonder how its going to perform with the stock programming. I'm keeping the TPI setup, but added an Accel base, 23# injectors and removed the pre-cats.

I know for maximum performance the chip should be replaced, I'm just looking for any gotcha's with the stock programming before I fire it up.

Old 08-01-2001, 09:19 AM
h rocks
Safety Car

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

1Moor, with a mass airflow car, you might be surprised how well it adapts. I'm not an expert in this area, but you may want to try the following: disconnect the battery for five minutes if it's not already been off for a while. Start it up and see if it will idle on it's own. Even if it's rough, let it run for another five or so. Next, go drive it for at least 20 miles until it learns how you want to drive it. See what you've got, then make your next decision. PS. I presume that along with the big base, you also installed the runners? If not, it will be a very limiting factor. I ran a ZZ4 race car on a roadcourse a month ago, and it had Brodex heads along with the cam and headers and stock base and tubes. It just ran out of air at 4900. With that cam, heads, headers, it should have easily pulled to 5500 or more with a big base and runners.
Old 08-01-2001, 09:47 AM
18carfan
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cruise-In II Veteran