C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Some help fellas...

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2004, 02:09 AM
84GSCLONE
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Some help fellas...

Ok I've taken my vette to the shop for a routine check up ... and they recommended me changing the wireloom? ?I'm new to this ... so is this the wiring harness? ... If so they are telling me its going to run about $300 brand new ... but they will try to find a used one ... Now on the other hand ... I have a chance to buy a TPI set up with everything wiring harness,intake manifold, injectors and so on for less than $500 ... what to do what to do?? I don't know if i should go look for a used wiring harness as I dont plan on keeping this engine in the car by June ...I'm planning to either rebuild it or move on and upgrade... But for the time being .. What do you guys recommend? Thanks!
Old 12-11-2004, 02:14 AM
bogus
Team Owner

Received 32 Likes on 30 Posts

1) You more than likely will need the new harness. Read my sticky at the top of the page regarding a Warning to Early C4 owners.

2) Don't bother with the TPI system. It's not all that great, and for the $$, you can do better. But you have to be cautious regarding CARB. If it was me, I would just go to a Super Ram and be done with it. You can also update the xfire... It's got about 400hp waiting to be released.
Old 12-11-2004, 03:11 AM
84GSCLONE
Instructor

what could I do make this puppy pump out that much HP and keep it emissions legal ... Im in CA ... purdy strict here ... Ok I will more than likely go with a new one ... a used one wouldnt be recommended for at least the time being??
Old 12-11-2004, 07:40 PM
kwik_ta
Race Director

Location: St. Peters MO Sometimes you have to prove yourself by doing alot of killing or alot of dying...

Originally Posted by bogus