C5 Forced Induction/Nitrous C5 Corvette Turbochargers, Superchargers, Centrifugal, Twin Screw & Roots Blowers, Twin Turbo Kits, Intercoolers, Wet & Dry Nitrous Injection, Meth
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Drag Radials vs Tubbed with 345s

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2005, 01:35 PM
ScottN
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
St. Jude Donor '05
Default Drag Radials vs Tubbed with 345s

I will be upgrading to some sort of FI in the next year. Most likely, I'll be going with the Mag. I should have at least 500 rwhp after the upgrade. I plan to start going to the track this spring for the first time ever. So, I'm a newbie.

Can anyone comment on the difference in launching traction between using drag radials and 345s at the 1/4 track? I assume the drag radials would stick better but can anyone comment on how much better. How well with the 345s perform...significantly better than my current 295s?

I would prefer to go with the 345s because I could use the same tires for both street and track. I could sell my current rear CCW SP500s with 295 Pilot Sprots, and buy a new rear set with 345's. The out-of-pocket cost would not be too bad.

If I go with drag radials (probably nitto's or bfg's), then I'd have to buy an entire set of tires and a set of used Z06 wheels. Although, having to change the wheels for track duty is not preferred if the difference is not significant.

Comments and suggestions appreciated.
Old 03-09-2005, 02:02 PM
Allthrottleandsomebottle
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 26 Likes on 13 Posts
Virginia Events Coordinator
Cruise-In IV Veteran
Cruise-In V Veteran
Cruise-In VI Veteran
Cruise-In VII Veteran
NCM Ambassador

As a start.........I use both on my 97'. At these power levels it is near impossible to find an all around duty tire.........
I use the treaded tires for road trips 700 miles one way.
Drs for trips of ~450 miles one way or less, local trips and play time at the track.