C5 Forced Induction/Nitrous C5 Corvette Turbochargers, Superchargers, Centrifugal, Twin Screw & Roots Blowers, Twin Turbo Kits, Intercoolers, Wet & Dry Nitrous Injection, Meth
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Import Turbo Junkie: How Well do Vettes respond to Forced-Induction (Turbocharging)?

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2007, 02:49 AM
flyboyzack
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Import Turbo Junkie: How Well do Vettes respond to Forced-Induction (Turbocharging)?

Hey guys, I'm a newb to American Muscle cars and sports cars. I have always been a big boost import car junkie. I have owned various cars such as a 414 rwhp BPU++ 6sp Supra, a 421 awhp Subaru STi, and a 513 rwhp 300zx twin turbo to name a few. Needless to say I love turbos....the rush of a big turbo(s) kicking in is nuts on big hp cars.

I am kinda looking to explore some domestic performance cars, namely the Corvette. I have always loved Vettes, and am considering getting one in the coming months. Since boost is in my DNA, how well do these cars respond to boost....big boost. Do you have to build the motor to run more than a bar (14.7PSI) or so of boost? I have my eyes set on building a twin-turbo vette, and was wondering what kind of numbers can I expect to get on pump gas without tearing up the motor and re-working it? I know APS has a pretty sweet kit that's goot for about 500 rwhp I think.

Thanks for any insight
Old 10-21-2007, 03:34 AM
lucky131969
Tech Contributor

Received 89 Likes on 81 Posts

There is plenty of information on this forum to answer your question. So you don't own a vette, but you are "thinking" of buying one, and decided to join this forum just to pick our brains, huh?

Import turbo junkie............
Old 10-21-2007, 08:40 AM
madmatt9471
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Location: Palmdale, Ca----- 2009 Cyber Gray 4LT A6 F55 452 RWHP 422 RWTQ- RIP 1998 C5 734 RWHP & 585 RWTQ-----
Received 342 Likes on 281 Posts

Look here: