Sponsored by:

How Hot is Too Hot

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2009, 08:55 PM
MrLeadFoot
Melting Slicks

Received 35 Likes on 25 Posts

Default How Hot is Too Hot

Wifey just called from the car. 106 degrees ambient temp. Stop and go rush hour traffic, for 30 minutes, max 30mph. Coolant hit 247 and Oil hit 257. Once she started moving at freeway speeds, the temps started dropping back down to Coolant 221 and Oil 246 within 5 minutes.

Question 1) Normal for a scorching day in traffic?

Question 2) Is she dangerously close to problems?

Question 3) Is the oil so darned hot, it's exceeded any limits?

TIA
The following users liked this post:
Omaha Flash (07-06-2016)
Old 07-16-2009, 08:57 PM
91LSMAN
Le Mans Master

Received 412 Likes on 215 Posts

I'm no expert, but for that temp outside, I think it sounds fine.

But again, I'm no expert.
Old 07-16-2009, 09:02 PM
Bill W
Burning Brakes

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

I'll make a leap and assume she had the air conditioning on. With the AC on the second fan kicks in. I've sat in traffic for half an hour or more at 85 ambient temp and the gauge never went over 195. When I've turned the AC off, the temp has gone to 220 or so.
Old 07-16-2009, 09:08 PM
VinnyT
Le Mans Master

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

This is too hot:

Your temps are within operating range. However, if you feel that it is too hot, you can always get a 160 T-stat and a tune for fan temps. Funny thing is that I would be surprised if anyone sees this after the pic.

LOL!!

Old 07-16-2009, 09:11 PM
MrLeadFoot
Melting Slicks

Oh yeah, you better believe she had the AC on. It's so hot out right now that I bet the ground is at least 130 degrees, maybe more!

Thanks for the replies, so far.