Sponsored by:

A few questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2009, 03:34 PM
Mark I
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default A few questions

I'm fairly new to corvettes and this C5 is my first. There are several of recent threads related to run-flat tires and some ads by sponsors for protective auto bras. I have two questions,

First, I assume the car was OEM equipped with run flat tires due to the lack of a spare. If you replace them with non-run flat tires are you just resigning yourself to wait for a tow in the event of a flat?

Second, I can see the value in putting a bra on the nose to defend against chips to the paint. How well do these things dry out after getting caught in the rain? Seems like taking it on and off would be a pain.

I'm driving it 3-4 days a week on a 70 mile round trip commute so I'm curious. BTW, the OEM tires ARE noisy as described.

Thanks
Old 11-05-2009, 03:40 PM
capevettes
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 4,551 Likes on 2,160 Posts
2023 C3 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified
2021 C8 of the Year Finalist Unmodified
2020 Corvette of the Year Finalist (performance mods)
2019 C1 of Year Winner (performance mods)
2017 Corvette of the Year Finalist
2016 C2 of Year
2015 C3 of Year Finalist

Personally, I don't have a problem with the stock runflats. Nice insurance to have them on a trip. Many like the non-run flats because they are a bit quieter and may ride a little better. You can carry one of those compressed air/fix-it cans in the event of a flat.

As far as the bras, I had the GM bra and thought it was ugly and a PITA to put on and take off. I went with a 3M clear bra and had it professionally installed. You can barely detect that it's on the car, they provide excellent protection, and your car looks the way it's supposed to.
Old 11-05-2009, 03:54 PM
Torchblue
Racer