Sponsored by:

How do I improve my 99 FRC hp?

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2016, 07:59 AM
countryair
3rd Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How do I improve my 99 FRC hp?

Here is a brief background about myself and my dream car. I purchased a 99 FRC about 2 years ago. I love almost any Vette but I always loved this style. I am 55 yrs old, and have been out of the Horsepower loop since my 1970 chevelle LS6 that I owned in the late 80s.

I have 1 or 2 basic questions.
@345 hp I would like to bump it up to at least 375.
How can this e accomplished? Best HP for the money etc and steps that you have done.
I am sure this has been asked and answered many times but I cant find or don't know how to the answers.

#2 is can you upgrade a LS1 to a LS2/LS3/LS4???

By the way its a 6 speed.
Thanks
The following users liked this post:
skydiven4fun (09-21-2016)
Old 09-18-2016, 10:00 AM
92polo
Racer

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

I am not an expert on hp gains, but from what I have read on the forum an air intake, headers and a tune might get you there. That's what I added on my 92 LT1 and it made a huge difference. Currently doing the same on my 99 FRC. I am sure the experts on this forum will reply with better info. Good luck
countryair (09-18-2016)
Old 09-18-2016, 10:04 AM
dbgoodwin
Safety Car

Received 751 Likes on 540 Posts

I would start small personally, get all the things that will support later bigger mods.

Headers, intake, exhaust and a tune will get you where you want, and be a good base for later mods if you get bored down the road.
countryair (09-18-2016)
Old 09-18-2016, 10:06 AM
ssrallyred
Burning Brakes

Received 41 Likes on 37 Posts

You can hit your goals with nothing but external mods. LT's and a good intake. Ported TB etc. will give you want you want.

And welcome !
countryair (09-18-2016)
Old 09-18-2016, 10:53 AM
v8srfun
Drifting

Received 155 Likes on 123 Posts

A good cold air intake
Swap out for a ls6 intake manifold
Long tube headers