C5 Scan & Tune Corvette Onboard Diagnostics, Service Advice, Dyno Tuning, Fuel Management, Tuning Software, LS1 Edit, AutoTap, Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

Best Way To Get Into Tuning?

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2010, 04:40 PM
n8dogg
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 327 Likes on 95 Posts

Default Best Way To Get Into Tuning?

Hi,
I am a technician for a used Corvette dealership. My passion is performance and racing. I do a lot of installs on performance parts and I would like to get into tuning. I have no experience with tuning cars. I also learn best by doing, not lecture settings. Can anyone point me in the right direction to get into tuning and things I would need? Thanks, and I appreciate your help.
Old 03-18-2010, 06:30 PM
Billf6531
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Go to http://www.hptuners.com/forum/ and start reading. When you've finished, find a tuning problem that you can work on, research it on the forum, and try and fix the problem. Good luck. It's a fascinating hobby for me.
Old 03-31-2010, 08:31 PM
RedRiderZR1
Drifting

Received 53 Likes on 47 Posts

^^^ I second that. That is how I got into it. Lots of reading, then doing. Learn a lot of how things work. Also nice to be able to go in and change your own tune and settings.
Old 03-31-2010, 09:15 PM
Blow Torch
Melting Slicks

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Go to the tuning school!
I had years of tuning experience on carb cars so I bought HPTuners and a tuning book. Read it from start to finish, visited the sites, but just couldn't get the data logging, etc., down well enough to make any progress
I attended the tuning school course and it literally made everything make sense.
Still MUCH to learn, but I'm on my way now
Old 03-31-2010, 09:17 PM
Blow Torch
Melting Slicks

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Deleted double post

Last edited by Blow Torch; 04-01-2010 at 04:59 PM.
Old 03-31-2010, 10:25 PM
sami85L98
Le Mans Master

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts