C5 Scan & Tune Corvette Onboard Diagnostics, Service Advice, Dyno Tuning, Fuel Management, Tuning Software, LS1 Edit, AutoTap, Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

Idle speed

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2018, 09:23 AM
cwf04vette
Instructor

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Idle speed

First, let me say I'm new to the corvette world and I'm not really a "wrench guy". So here is my question. I've tried to find what I'm looking for with searches on the forum but have not seen what I need.
I purchased a 2003 with automatic transmission in September and I noticed that the idle is around 600rpm which I think is about right. When I let off the brake the car starts moving forward quicker than I expected it would. Also when I'm on a flat road, and I take my foot off the accelerator the car seems to continue for a long time without slowing down very much.

Is there some adjustment that need to be made or is that normal for a corvette?
Old 01-27-2018, 03:46 PM
Carl Timonen
Racer

Received 67 Likes on 58 Posts

I think this is normal for the stock torque converter.
Old 02-03-2018, 07:12 PM
tblu92
Le Mans Master

Received 281 Likes on 258 Posts
St. Jude Donor '13-'14-'15

If you have NOT made any part changes and this just started happening then it points to a "dirty throttle body" A stock engine should never have a "hanging idle " in gear when coming to a stop-----
A C5 with a drive by wire T-body does not have an Idle air control valve so the throttle is used during cold starts to add extra airflow--By opening the throttle slightlyirty
A dirty carbon fouled T-body is common on older engines---When the T-body gets dirty