C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Current draw Courtesy Relay

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2016, 08:36 AM
CTD
Melting Slicks

Received 51 Likes on 43 Posts

Default Current draw Courtesy Relay

I've chased it down to this bad ****.....so I thought. Using a amp hound & my Fluke on the ground side of the battery, every fuse cct is good other than #25 which shows .080a. Sleep draw is .210a until I pull the courtesy relay then it idles down nicely to 21ma......

I thought last season I would live without courtesy lights, the battery still would go flat within several days of being parked.

This afternooon I revisited trying to determine why the battery was still dying.

Re tested & all seem to verify last season, it's the courtesy relay cct. I started playing with the interior light dim control & some inconsistencies began to show. With & without the courtesy relay back in.

Then I pressed the light button on the interior rear view, that created some havoc with current draw. I turned the mirror lights off & watched the idle current as it went into sleep mode...it's back to .210a with the courtesy relay pulled.

Could not find a fuse specific to the interior mirror & vanity, turned them on & went with the amp hound & found #2 was the current fuse. Pulled the fuse & confirmed the mirror & vanity lights did not work.

The courtesy relay was in @ this point & sleep draw was .210a, pulled it & down the sleep current went.

I'm a little lost & my single brain cell is hurt'n

Right now I've #2 fuse pulled & the courtesy relay & it goes to sleep in the 20ma area.

Any idea's where I might go?
Old 04-24-2016, 10:05 AM
dadaroo
Le Mans Master

Received 290 Likes on 226 Posts

If you need the schematic for both circuits I can do that. Need your year.

Mr. Sam
Old 04-24-2016, 10:09 AM
CTD
Melting Slicks