C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lamborghini doors on a 99 c5

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2018, 12:21 AM
Rlb2002vette
Racer

Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default Lamborghini doors on a 99 c5

I'm thinking about having VDI Lamborghini doors for my 99 c5. Has anyone paid or knows what a fair price to be installed, I live near Indianapolis In. so if someone know a shop I'd appreciate the heads up. Also what's the Pro's and Con's of having them. I'm a disabled Vet so I don't think I can move around to install myself. Ty for your time and input.
Old 01-25-2018, 11:21 AM
luffy
Instructor

Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts

Design feelings aside, alot of people mention that you lose the "detents" or stops, when opening the door conventionally. Ie. the door must swing out initally to clear the stop and frame, then swing up. Alot of people find the doors awkward as the doors can swing completely in or out, without the detents that the stock doors have. Depending on your preferences and mobility, this could be very annoying parking on a slight incline or in a crowded lot.

I would recommend trying one in person to see if it suits your liking. P
Old 01-25-2018, 11:31 AM
Tsumi
Drifting

Received 357 Likes on 289 Posts

I could be wrong, but my gut feeling is that if you're disabled to the point where you can't install it yourself, you're not going to get much use out of it.
The following users liked this post:
digitaloutsider (02-04-2018)
Old 01-25-2018, 12:50 PM
Rlb2002vette
Racer

Originally Posted by luffy