C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2001 Question

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2019, 12:14 PM
Cstawa
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Question

I am looking at a 2001 convertible with 52000 miles. I am new to Corvettes but understand there was an oil issues with this year. Can anyone provide additional information and an opinion
if I should stay away from this year.

Thanks
Old 01-07-2019, 12:25 PM
mikesvette1
Instructor

Received 29 Likes on 14 Posts

I have a 2001 coupe and have had no problem with the oil , as I say that i did have to add about a half a quart my first oil change but everything has been fine since.
The following users liked this post:
SpeedRacerMach (01-08-2019)
Old 01-07-2019, 03:44 PM
Cstawa
Intermediate

Thanks
Old 01-07-2019, 03:56 PM
zachaeous
Melting Slicks

Received 451 Likes on 376 Posts

Here is the guideline for oil consumption from GM:

This information can be found in the following service information bulletin and provides guidance to dealers on this issue: Information on Engine Oil Consumption Guidelines #01-06-01-011. This covers all 1996 - 2001 passenger cars and gasoline powered light duty trucks under 8500 LB GVW.