C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

To install or not to install, that is the question

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2006, 01:33 PM
enjoytheview
Pro
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default To install or not to install, that is the question

I have a pair of bullets headed my way. I'd like to do the install myself, but i've never done an exhaust install before. What do you guys think? I know a lot of people say it's pretty easy, but my vette is not something i wanna screw up on.

I was thinking i could back the vette up on my rhino ramps to do the work. My biggest concern is removing the stock exhaust, I don't wanna cut it out if possible. Also i dont have airtools.

I'm a young guy, and i want to get more hands on with my car, i've done installs on CAIs and BlowOff Valves on my old car, so i'm not a complete newby.

I'm looking for some advice, a writeup would be great if one exists.

TIA
Old 11-12-2006, 01:45 PM
rfopt
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

The main task is being completely comfortable being under the car with the rear of the car jacked up as high as possible while having it set up safely. Also take your time. When you are not in a rush things seem to work out easier, for me at least. You don't need to cut the stock exhaust.

Once you get past this it's not that hard to do following the instructions that come with the exhaust. I'm going off of memory but I believe I had to unbolt a part of the rear sway bar on the right side for the right side stock muffler/pipe to clear. Also I had to unbolt the stock H-pipe in the front and rear to move the H-pipe forward to allow the stock muffler/pipes room to be removed from it.

Last edited by rfopt; 11-12-2006 at 01:54 PM.
Old 11-12-2006, 01:48 PM
Sven
Team Owner

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
St. Jude Donor '08-'09