C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Powder Coating Wheels: The entire Process

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2008, 11:57 AM
Bearcat23
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Powder Coating Wheels: The entire Process

So I've decided I could *maybe* save a buck or two and Powder Coat my stock '07 wheels black... It looks like it's going to run me about $320 just for the powder coating here in Las Vegas....However, the process is what's confusing me...

It looks like I'll have to go out and buy a few jacks and jack stands, approx. $250. Is it safe to leave the car on Jacks for 3-4 days while I wait for my wheels to get done? This makes me nervous.

Also, I know the wheels have sensors on them, how does this play in with getting them powder coated?

Thanks for the help, I'm a total noob here, and have zero mechanical skills, so if my questions are rudimentary I apologize.

Thanks for the help!
Old 08-26-2008, 12:51 PM
AutoCutter
Melting Slicks

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by Bearcat23
So I've decided I could *maybe* save a buck or two and Powder Coat my stock '07 wheels black... It looks like it's going to run me about $320 just for the powder coating here in Las Vegas....However, the process is what's confusing me...

It looks like I'll have to go out and buy a few jacks and jack stands, approx. $250. Is it safe to leave the car on Jacks for 3-4 days while I wait for my wheels to get done? This makes me nervous.

Also, I know the wheels have sensors on them, how does this play in with getting them powder coated?

Thanks for the help, I'm a total noob here, and have zero mechanical skills, so if my questions are rudimentary I apologize.

Thanks for the help!
Nothing to apologize about-questions are a good thing!

Yup, you can leave the car up on jackstands, assuming you have then placed in the preferred points (do a search on jacking points.)