C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What Makes a Successful Racing Program

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2019, 02:19 PM
Curated Content Editor
CorvetteForum Editor

Received 915 Likes on 461 Posts
Default What Makes a Successful Racing Program

What Makes a Successful Racing Program
By Christopher Hurst

What makes a successful racing program? Let’s take a close look.

Old 01-18-2019, 02:37 PM
FAUEE
Race Director

Received 4,448 Likes on 2,803 Posts

What makes a successful racing program?

Limitless money.
Old 01-20-2019, 04:00 PM
Mostmint
Advanced

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

I have a few ideas. While I am new to racing Corvettes I have been doing endurance road racing since 2011 - over 11,000 miles of racing

2017 practice day with our 92 Saturn

1. Define success
Is winning the only measure of success? I started endurance racing for the challenge of a 24 hour race. We have been to premiere tracks like Charlotte, COTA, MIS, Watkins Glen, along with others – things I never dreamed of when I started, but having the privilege to race at these places is definitely in the success category for me.
Also in the success category is my children (now 18 and 20) have been involved with the team and have gone to all the races. My daughter has been crew chief for several races (great resume builder) and lots we learned here helped my son with his combat robots.

So far our mighty Saturn has run ChampCar Endurance Series and in our last five races we got two podiums and three class wins. (We split costs between the drivers which does help keep costs down)

2.Choose the kind of racing that is right for you
Skills, funding and interest all play into this decision

3. Be a student of racing first
Save a lot of $ not making mistakes other people made

4. If possible, don't start from scratch