Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] General Exclaim Tire Reviews or Other Tires Step in Please

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2010, 10:30 AM
FrankTank
Race Director

Received 46 Likes on 35 Posts
CI 7-8-9-11 Veteran
St. Jude Donor '06-'10, '13

Default General Exclaim Tire Reviews or Other Tires Step in Please

My Run-craps just turned 15,800 and they are pretty much done, not bald but getting close to the markers. So it's time to pony-up the $$$$ for some tires.

My car is mainly street driven, it mights see one or 2 track events a year, but that will be in the future since I am still learning the car.

The cheapest price for street tires seem to be the General UHP tires. I would like some more feedback however from those of you that have had them a while. I did do some reasearch, this link turned out to be the most helpful thus far..

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/c6-z...z-sizes-3.html

I realize any non-runflat tires is going to be softer and "feel" a little sloppier in handeling, but just how much is the question.

I am not going to buy the PS2's or GY again, just too damn expensive. I was thinking about the Nitto Invo's but have also read mixed reviews.
The other issue I have with tire reviews on-line is that unless it's for the same car (in my case a Z06) the reviews to me don't mean squat since cars are so different in weight, suspension etc etc...

So reading that a Nitto did great on a Mustang, or Acura is of no value to me. I have run BFGKDW2's and Yokahama tires on my old modded C5 and was pretty happy with them...but not sure if they even make those in Z stock sizes.

What say you fellow Z06 brothers??

Last edited by FrankTank; 09-02-2010 at 03:27 PM.
Old 08-26-2010, 10:37 AM
Stage7
Burning Brakes

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts