Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] LS7 bit the dust on the track the other day

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2018, 07:13 PM
freaknbigpanda
Pro

Received 41 Likes on 25 Posts

Default LS7 bit the dust on the track the other day

I was accelerating in third gear approaching redline when I heard a sound that sounded like driving over gravel coming from the front of the car followed by lots of smoke from coolant.

The thing that is bothering me is this:

https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums...tle-noise.html

I had been hearing that noise for several months. I checked the cats, I checked all around the wheel well where I heard the noise coming from, I checked the mufflers and the xpipe. Everything was totally fine, so now I am thinking that thise noise was actually an early warning from my valves/engine that was about to go.

Has anybody experienced a noise like that prior to their engine grenading?

Last edited by freaknbigpanda; 01-12-2020 at 09:43 PM.
Old 04-11-2018, 07:18 PM
TXGS507
Race Director

Received 1,679 Likes on 1,135 Posts

Bro....
Old 04-11-2018, 07:21 PM
Drew03tx
Instructor

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Valve failure is real and common, time to rebuild it and get aftermarket heads with better valve guides. AHP is what run on my car

Last edited by Drew03tx; 04-11-2018 at 07:24 PM.
Old 04-11-2018, 07:30 PM
PK Auto Design
Supporting Vendor

Received 138 Likes on 131 Posts

Ya sorry to say it but that was definitely at least one valve dropping completely. I would venture to possibly say the pistons and combustion chambers are pretty chewed up as well.
Old 04-11-2018, 07:31 PM
JesC6Z
Pro

Received 60 Likes on 54 Posts

Originally Posted by freaknbigpanda