C6 Forced Induction/Nitrous C6 Corvette Turbochargers, Superchargers, Pulley Upgrades, Intercoolers, Wet and Dry Nitrous Injection, Meth
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Reinstallation of Cats on my 06Z any suggestions?

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2019, 12:24 PM
speedz06
Drifting

Received 50 Likes on 40 Posts

Default Reinstallation of Cats on my 06Z any suggestions?

I have been running without catalytic converters for about 2 years.
I'm not crazy about the smell of the exhaust (especially inside the car) after making a hard pull and my wife complains all the time....so I'm ready to replace the cats. From what it looks like the oem crossover pipe is on the car and the shop at the time hacked out the cats. I'm doing this to cut down on the smell inside the car not for any other reason.

My thinking is to go with a complete X pipe/cat combo from Kooks I just dont want to buy something that might clog or have any issues later.

My question is might there a better brand or combination to consider?

Pricing/availability is important.

Not lose much or any performance.

Old 02-24-2019, 01:09 PM
Unreal
Team Owner

Received 2,313 Likes on 1,793 Posts

Any FI car runs the risk of clogging and having issues.
Old 02-24-2019, 04:17 PM
realcanuk
Le Mans Master

Received 394 Likes on 359 Posts
St. Jude Donor '13

Like ^^ said, if FI cats will fail eventually. The smell can be greatly reduced with tuning. Mine is hardly noticeable now.
Old 02-24-2019, 05:05 PM
old motorhead
Le Mans Master

Received 1,339 Likes on 947 Posts

If you have long tube headers, just get catted mid pipes for your headers. If you have a stock Z exhaust, get the stock mid pipes. They're for sale just about every day in the parts for sale/wanted section.
Old 02-25-2019, 01:31 PM
TTZ06VETTE
Drifting

Received 74 Likes on 59 Posts

Originally Posted by realcanuk
Like ^^ said, if FI cats will fail eventually. The smell can be greatly reduced with tuning. Mine is hardly noticeable now.