C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hinson transmission mounts installed (with pics)

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2011, 07:34 PM
ashanson
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Hinson transmission mounts installed (with pics)

About two weeks ago I received my Hinson poly motor and transmission mounts. I finally got around to installing them this weekend, and thought maybe some other DIYers wouldn't mind seeing a writeup before doing the install themselves. Note that I have very little experience working on corvettes, but I have done most of my own car work for the past few years. I did this in my garage with only hand tools, and it took me about 2.5 hours from start to finish (yes I know I'm slow, but I like to take my time and it was my first time doing this).

Here is what I needed:
Jack stands and pucks for the chassis
Jack to hold up transmission
15, 18, and 21mm deep sockets plus ratchet and extensions

Here are the new mounts, they seem to be quality pieces:

First I had to locate the transmission mounts and where they bolted to the subframe, but it wasn't too difficult since I knew the general shape. I took off the four nuts on each transmission mount, you can see the bottom ones here circled in red, and there are two more on top (which are impossible to access, the install easily took an extra 45 minutes because of those bastards). The lower two are 18mm and the top two are 15mm.

After all the fasteners were off I put a jack under the transmission to hold it in place while I lowered the rear subframe (four 21mm nuts). The back two are above the swaybar.

And the front two are above the transmission mounts and outside a bit. The transmission mount is circled in red and the rear subframe bolt is in green: