C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HELP! Brakes do not fit front wheels

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2016, 01:08 AM
Jaime-Corvette
Drifting

Received 153 Likes on 130 Posts
Default HELP! Brakes do not fit front wheels

2008 Base model
Ok guys, i am a complete noob to this im a dummy for this so please bare with me. If any help is given it would be greatly appreciated.

Finally got the time to install the z06 brakes and wheels/tires on the car. Sorry NOPE they were lies. Supposedly these wheels i baught would fit "big brakes". that wasn't the case. These are cray spyder wheels and z06 brakes. The offsets are not stock and they are half an inch wider than stock front/rear. Rear's combo is ok since big wheels and smaller brakes. But i was iffy about the fronts from the start. smaller wheels, bigger brakes. Everything was great until we mounted the wheels right after installing the front discs and caliper. And guess what, exactly... the caliper hits the spoke of the wheel just barely. I got frustrated. We used a 1 1/8th washer to see how it would look. Turned out it actually worked. By a quarter of an inch these brakes didnt fit the supposedly "big brakes" ready wheels. I would feel more comfortable with 1 1/4th though. Here i demonstrate the difference between the rears and the fronts.

So the rears are fine.

Fronts in a close up you can see the caliper touching with the wheel.

Any advise on how to Fix this? No i do not want any fancy washers, or wheel spacers or hub centric spacers. I don't want to die. This car will see crazy speeds and will reach them quickly, and quite a lot of times.
Yes i know, either buy new wheels with the correct offset, new less wide brakes, or __________ (your line here). If need more info ill do my best to provide.
Thank you and please help guys
Old 08-21-2016, 01:15 AM
Jaime-Corvette