C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advice on Coolant Temperature (Sensor) Issue

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2017, 10:32 PM
frankywi
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice on Coolant Temperature (Sensor) Issue

Hello everyone,

I am still new to the C6 and I have an issue with my coolant system. Originally I would regularly see the "Check Coolant Level" warning in the DIC. Chevy then found the fuel pump to be leaking and replaced it. The issue remained. When reviewing the coolant level in the reservoir now, it seems full, more importantly the level remains the same.

the problem progressed into to the "dancing teperature needle", meaning that the temperature of the coolant can jump easily from 100 to 200 in a split second. The erratic jumps are also seen on the temperature display in the DIC.

I again had the car at chevy and they found a few battery wires that supposedly were the issue, after which the issue did not change. If anything it got worse, as the temperature range is bigger now. I have seen everything from 23 to 210. The worsening could also be because now it is generally cooler outside than before. Now the situation is so bad that sometimes the car shifts from extreme cold mode (higher RPM) to overheating mode (full fan, no AC) within a minute or so, which certainly is not good. I also experience hesitant starting, where the engine only starts running if add a little throttle.