Sponsored by:

An Important Overlooked Spec

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2013, 08:58 AM
daixloxbmw
Pro

Received 85 Likes on 56 Posts

Default An Important Overlooked Spec

According to the latest Car and Driver comparison between the 911 S and C7 Z51, the C7 recorded a Center of Gravity Height of 17.5", the lowest they have ever measured.

For comparison, some of the other leaders in this category are the BRZ/FRS at 18" and the 911 and Cayman at 19". I'm sure the Miata, Elise, Exige, Boxster and C6 deserve an honorable mention as well but I couldn't find measured results for them.

Anyway, just wanted to point that out for those of you who missed it. Certainly this low Center of Gravity Height would contribute to the C7's amazing handling characteristics.
Old 11-03-2013, 09:17 AM
Racerdj
Melting Slicks

Received 284 Likes on 180 Posts

The C7 has great skid pad numbers.
Old 11-03-2013, 09:39 AM
Aerohead
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

As an engineer I've got to wonder how in the world CD measures the CG of a new car....
Old 11-03-2013, 09:48 AM
JoesC5
Team Owner

Received 1,699 Likes on 1,213 Posts

Originally Posted by daixloxbmw
According to the latest Car and Driver comparison between the 911 S and C7 Z51, the C7 recorded a Center of Gravity Height of 17.5", the lowest they have ever measured.

For comparison, some of the other leaders in this category are the BRZ/FRS at 18" and the 911 and Cayman at 19". I'm sure the Miata, Elise, Exige, Boxster and C6 deserve an honorable mention as well but I couldn't find measured results for them.

Anyway, just wanted to point that out for those of you who missed it. Certainly this low Center of Gravity Height would contribute to the C7's amazing handling characteristics.
C6 Z06 is also 17.5". I guess they never measured many cars, or C&D has a very poor memory.