Run flat tire leak

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2016, 07:43 PM
Fr8flyer
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Run flat tire leak

Looking for some guidance:
I have no experience with run flat tires and just discovered a leak in one of the fronts. Instrument cluster flashed 20psi, I pulled over and saw a nail in the middle of the tread.
I drove the car about 5 miles, filled the tire with air and left it parked for 4 hours. When I came back it was down to 9psi. I filled it again and drove 10 miles home. Parked it with it down to 26 psi and there it sits.

Can this tire be plugged or is a replacement required?

If it can be plugged, will leaving the leaky tire overnight do any damage? I'm sure it will be down to 0psi by morning when I can fill it and take to the tire shop.

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Old 03-24-2016, 07:48 PM
speedlink
Safety Car

Received 599 Likes on 373 Posts

Originally Posted by Fr8flyer
I have no experience with run flat tires and just discovered a leak in one of the fronts. Instrument cluster flashed 20psi, I pulled over and saw a nail in the middle of the tread.
I drove the car about 5 miles, filled the tire with air and left it parked for 4 hours. When I came back it was down to 9psi. I filled it again and drove 10 miles home. Parked it with it down to 26 psi and there it sits.

If it can be plugged, will leaving the leaky tire overnight do any damage? I'm sure it will be down to 0psi by morning when I can fill it and take to the tire shop.

Normally, with a nail in the middle, it can be repaired. Take it to Michelin. Leaving it overnight should not be a problem.
Old 03-24-2016, 07:48 PM
Zymurgy

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 15,076 Likes on 6,173 Posts

Assuming there is no internal structural damage, yes it can be repaired. The only proper repair is a combination plug/patch.

Old 03-24-2016, 08:22 PM
L8ter
Melting Slicks

Received 929 Likes on 522 Posts

How come I never get so lucky?